Master’sMFAArt Education
Art Education (MFA)
Academy of Art University · No campus · institution based in United States
- Award
- Master of Fine Arts in Art Education
- Tuition
- $1,551 per credit, domestic students, Fall 2026-Summer 2027 (+1 more)
Independent directory of art schools and degree programs worldwide
All online art degreesLow-residency MFA
Each listing states what is taught online and what is not: mandatory campus studios, residencies, in-person assessment, local placements, live attendance and time-zone requirements. Where a requirement is not published it is shown as not published, not as “none”.
Teaching is fully online. Read the details: assessment, placements and live sessions can still require presence.
Academy of Art University · Master of Fine Arts in Fine Art MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
$1,551 per credit, domestic students, Fall 2026-Summer 2027 (+1 more)
Academy of Art University · Master of Fine Arts in Illustration MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
$1,551 per credit, domestic students, Fall 2026-Summer 2027 (+1 more)
Academy of Art University · Master of Fine Arts in Art Education MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
$1,551 per credit, domestic students, Fall 2026-Summer 2027 (+1 more)
Full Sail University · Master of Fine Arts in Media Design MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Tuition not published
Liberty University · Master of Fine Arts in Graphic Design (MFA) MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: Page states some courses may include scheduled meeting times, travel to campus, or required login sessions; exclusions apply.Local placement: 180-hour internship under a professional supervisor plus a 90-hour practicum; location not stated.
$600 per credit, 2026-2027
Lindenwood University · Master of Fine Arts in Interdisciplinary Media Arts MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: No residency requirement.
$630 per credit, year not stated on page
Savannah College of Art and Design · Master of Fine Arts in Painting MFA
Fully online instructionCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Tuition not published
Mostly distance study with required periods on site. Never fully online.
Azusa Pacific University · Master of Fine Arts in Visual Art MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: summer residency each year (Summer I term); January weekend not confirmed on the catalog page · three weeks in the Summer I term (May/June) · Azusa, California (APU)
Tuition not published
Bard College · master of fine arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: three consecutive summers · eight intensive weeks each summer · Bard College campus, Annandale-on-Hudson, NYResidency extra costs: The tuition page lists per-summer-session fees such as a studio fee and optional on-campus housing.
$20,754 per term, Summer 2026 (+1 more)
Belmont University · Master of Fine Arts in Visual Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: 23-day Summer Residency and 4-day Winterim Residency · 23 days (summer) and 4 days (winter) · Belmont University campus, Nashville
Tuition not published
Clark University · Master of Fine Arts in Visual Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: June and January residencies · about ten days (January 7-16, 2027; June 18-27, 2027) · Clark University Campus, Worcester, Massachusetts (June); MASS MoCA, North Adams, Massachusetts (January)
Tuition not published
Cornell University · Master of Fine Arts in Image Text MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: three summer sessions · five weeks each · Cornell AAP, Ithaca
Tuition not published
Emily Carr University of Art + Design · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive sessions requiredInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: two immersive summer residencies · Vancouver (Emily Carr University)In-person assessment: Thesis project culminating in a final exhibition and defense.
Tuition not published
Institute of American Indian Arts · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: two intensive on-campus residency periods per year (summer and winter) · an immersive week (summer residency) · IAIA campus in Santa Fe, NM
Tuition not published
Maharishi International University · Master of Fine Arts in Visual Art MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: each of the five semesters (each summer and winter) · two weeks · Maharishi International University, Fairfield, Iowa
Tuition not published
Maine College of Art & Design · Master of Fine Arts in Studio Art MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: Summer Intensive plus additional intensives and research field trips (schedule not detailed on page) · eight-week Summer Intensive · Portland, Maine
$1,492 per credit, year not stated on page
Maine Media College · Master of Fine Arts in Media Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: 2 five-day MFA retreats each year, in May and November · five daysIn-person assessment: Thesis final projects presented and discussed in public
Tuition not published
Maryland Institute College of Art · Master of Fine Arts in Studio Art MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: four summers; winter sessions each January · six-week summer residency; winter sessions over a long weekend · MICA, Baltimore
Tuition not published
Marywood University · Master of Fine Arts in Graphic Design and Illustration Visual Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: four summer residencies over the program · two weeks each · Marywood University, Scranton, PA
Tuition not published
Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: Three intensive on-campus summer residencies bookend and divide the two academic years. · On campus at MassArt, BostonIn-person assessment: The final residency culminates in a public thesis exhibition and artist talk.
$945 per credit, 2026-27
Memorial University of Newfoundland (Grenfell Campus) · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: On-campus intensive in the first spring and a second on-campus intensive the following spring · May and June of the spring semester (first intensive) · Grenfell Campus, Memorial University of Newfoundland and Labrador, Corner BrookIn-person assessment: The final project is presented at Grenfell Campus, Memorial University, during the second fall and/or winter term.
Tuition not published
Pacific Northwest College of Art at Willamette University · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: three consecutive summers · 6-8 week · Portland, Oregon
Tuition not published
School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: three consecutive summers · six weeks · Chicago
Tuition not published
School of Visual Arts · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: three summers · eight weeks each (full time) · School of Visual Arts, New York City
Tuition not published
Texas State University · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: Each semester · Multiple-day residency · On the Texas State campus
Tuition not published
University of Hartford · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: summer on-campus sessions plus traveling contact periods in spring and fall · two weeks on campus in the summer · University of Hartford campus, West Hartford, Connecticut, plus travel locations
Tuition not published
University of Hartford · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: summer on-campus sessions plus traveling contact periods in spring and fall · two weeks on campus in the summer · University of Hartford campus, West Hartford, Connecticut, plus travel locations
Tuition not published
University of Nevada, Reno · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: each winter and summer · ten-day · University of Nevada, Reno at Lake Tahoe
Tuition not published
Vermont College of Fine Arts · Master of Fine Arts in Visual Art MFA
Distance study with required residenciesCampus studio: not requiredLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: 4 semesters, 5 nine-day residencies · nine-day
$15,631 per semester, current (page undated)
Part online, part in person. Never fully online.
University of Wisconsin-Stout · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Blended with required campus elementsCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Tuition not published
Whitecliffe College of Arts and Design · Master of Fine Arts MFA
Blended with required campus elementsCampus studio: not publishedLive attendance not publishedInternational enrolment: Not published
Residency: Some in-person seminars
NZ$11,802 per year, domestic students, 2027 (+1 more)
31 programs
Master’sMFAArt Education
Academy of Art University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Academy of Art University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAIllustration
Academy of Art University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Azusa Pacific University · Azusa, California, United States
Master’sMFAFine ArtsPainting (concentration)Photography (concentration)
Bard College · Annandale-on-Hudson, New York, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Belmont University · Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Clark University · Worcester, Massachusetts, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Cornell University · Ithaca, New York, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Emily Carr University of Art + Design · Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Master’sMFAVisual Communication Design
Full Sail University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAStudio Arts
Institute of American Indian Arts · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAGraphic Design
Liberty University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFANew Media Arts
Lindenwood University · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Maharishi International University · Fairfield, Iowa, United States
Master’sMFAStudio Arts
Maine College of Art & Design · Portland, Maine, United States
Master’sMFANew Media Arts
Maine Media College · Rockport, Maine, United States
Master’sMFAStudio Arts
Maryland Institute College of Art · Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Master’sMFAGraphic DesignIllustration
Marywood University · Scranton, Pennsylvania, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Massachusetts College of Art and Design · Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Memorial University of Newfoundland (Grenfell Campus) · Corner Brook, Newfoundland and Labrador, Canada
Master’sMFAFine Arts
Pacific Northwest College of Art at Willamette University · Portland, Oregon, United States
Master’sMFAPainting
Savannah College of Art and Design · No campus · institution based in United States
Master’sMFAFine Arts
School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Chicago, Illinois, United States
Master’sMFAVisual Communication Design
School of Visual Arts · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
How results are ordered: alphabetically by institution, or by most recently checked when you choose that sort. There is no price ranking, because tuition in different currencies, fee categories and bases (per year, per credit, whole program) is not comparable. A program appears under a subject only through a verified link (dedicated degree, major, concentration or documented pathway). A value we could not verify is shown as “not published”, never as “no”. Items marked Sponsored are paid placements; they never change verification or order. Online programs are not counted as physically located in a state or city, and an institution’s location does not tell you whether it enrols students from your country.