Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

MFA in Visual Art

Vermont College of Fine Arts · MFA in Visual Art, VCFA · No campus · institution based in United States

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
Low residency2 years
Tuition
$15,631per semester, current (page undated)

Low-residency program

Attendance at residencies is mandatory. This program is not fully online; the residency details are listed under study structure.

About this program

A two-year low-residency MFA with no media restrictions; students make work in home studios under faculty mentors and meet for nine-day residencies.

Department
MFA in Visual Art, VCFA
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Distance study with required residencies
Campus studio required
No
Campus residencies or workshops
5 nine-day residencies over four semesters.
Residency frequency
4 semesters, 5 nine-day residencies
Residency length
nine-day
Residency location
Not published
Attendance mandatory
Yes
Travel expectations
Not published
Online components
All studio work is created in home studios with one-on-one faculty mentors; about 6 hours per week of Visual Culture research.
Additional residency costs
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
2 years
Studio requirements
Students are expected to spend 20 hours per week creating in their home studios
Campus attendance
5 nine-day residencies
Thesis or dissertation
Process Paper presented at final residency
Intakes
Winter, Summer

Source could not be re-checked automatically.

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
Residency location is not stated on the program page fetched.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
TuitionTuition · mandatory$15,631per semester, current (page undated)All students23 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 23 October 2026)

Suggest a correction