Master’s degree · MFA
Low Residency MFA in Visual Studies
Pacific Northwest College of Art at Willamette University · Pacific Northwest College of Art at Willamette University · Portland, Oregon, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- Low residency2 Years
- Tuition
- Not published
Low-residency program
About this program
A 60-credit low-residency MFA in which students work in a home studio with a professional artist mentor and attend summer residencies in Portland.
- Department
- Pacific Northwest College of Art at Willamette University
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Distance study with required residencies
- Campus studio required
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Three in-person summer residencies in Portland.
- Residency frequency
- three consecutive summers
- Residency length
- 6-8 week
- Residency location
- Portland, Oregon
- Attendance mandatory
- Yes
- Travel expectations
- Not published
- Online components
- Work in a home studio, paired with a professional artist mentor for one-on-one guidance.
- Additional residency costs
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 2 Years
- Credits
- 60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Studio requirements
- Create work in your home studio
- Campus attendance
- 6-8 week in-person summer residency
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Portland
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)