Master’s degree · MFA
MFA in Visual Art
Azusa Pacific University · School of the Arts, Department of Art · Azusa, California, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- Low residency37-month, low-residency MFA program
- Tuition
- Not published
Low-residency program
About this program
A 60-unit, 37-month low-residency MFA in visual art with required on-campus residencies and independent studio work in between.
- Department
- School of the Arts, Department of Art
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Distance study with required residencies
- Campus studio required
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Required residencies; classes, critiques and workshops held over three weeks in Summer I (May/June).
- Residency frequency
- summer residency each year (Summer I term); January weekend not confirmed on the catalog page
- Residency length
- three weeks in the Summer I term (May/June)
- Residency location
- Azusa, California (APU)
- Attendance mandatory
- Yes
- Travel expectations
- Not published
- Online components
- Not published
- Additional residency costs
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 37-month, low-residency MFA program
- Credits
- 60 unitsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Campus attendance
- at least 9 semester units in residence
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Azusa campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)