Master’s degree · MFA
M.F.A. Major in Communication Design
Texas State University · School of Art and Design · San Marcos, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Visual Communication Design
- Format
- Low residency
- Tuition
- Not published
Low-residency program
About this program
Low-residency MFA in communication design with largely online courses and a required multi-day campus residency each semester.
- Department
- School of Art and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Visual Communication Design | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
- Online instruction
- Distance study with required residencies
- Campus studio required
- Not published
- Campus residencies or workshops
- Each semester; Multiple-day residency
- Residency frequency
- Each semester
- Residency length
- Multiple-day residency
- Residency location
- On the Texas State campus
- Attendance mandatory
- Yes
- Travel expectations
- Not published
- Online components
- Courses are largely online
- Additional residency costs
- Not published
- Live attendance
- Live attendance not published
- International enrolment
- Not published
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Credits
- 60 semester credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Thesis or dissertation
- Written thesis, Mid-Program Portfolio Review and Comprehensive Exam
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- San Marcos campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Graduate College and College of Fine Arts scholarships and awards, including a Merit Fellowship Award Scholarship
Competitive
Graduate instructional and teaching assistantships Assistantship
Competitive · Mentoring in pedagogy; other graduate assistantships may be offered within the School of Art and Design
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)