Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Master of Fine Arts in Visual Arts

Belmont University · Watkins College of Art · Nashville, Tennessee, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
Low residencytwo-year and one-month period
Tuition
Not published

Low-residency program

Attendance at residencies is mandatory. This program is not fully online; the residency details are listed under study structure.

About this program

Low-residency MFA with on-campus summer and winter residencies and semester-long studio projects with artist-teachers.

Department
Watkins College of Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Distance study with required residencies
Campus studio required
Not published
Campus residencies or workshops
23-day Summer Residency and 4-day Winter Residency on campus
Residency frequency
23-day Summer Residency and 4-day Winterim Residency
Residency length
23 days (summer) and 4 days (winter)
Residency location
Belmont University campus, Nashville
Attendance mandatory
Yes
Travel expectations
Not published
Online components
Away semesters include an online Special Topics Seminar
Additional residency costs
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year and one-month period
Campus attendance
23-day Summer Residency and 4-day Winter Residency
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Belmont University campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredPortfolio of work (15–20 pieces) submitted via SlideRoom
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction