Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Low-Residency Master of Fine Arts

School of the Art Institute of Chicago · School of the Art Institute of Chicago · Chicago, Illinois, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
Low residency
Tuition
Not published

Low-residency program

Attendance at residencies is mandatory. This program is not fully online; the residency details are listed under study structure.

About this program

A seven-semester, 60-credit MFA for artists of all disciplines combining off-campus study with required summer residencies in Chicago.

Department
School of the Art Institute of Chicago
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Distance study with required residencies
Campus studio required
Not published
Campus residencies or workshops
Three consecutive six-week summer sessions in person in Chicago.
Residency frequency
three consecutive summers
Residency length
six weeks
Residency location
Chicago
Attendance mandatory
Yes
Travel expectations
Not published
Online components
Off-campus semesters during the academic year.
Additional residency costs
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Campus attendance
Three six-week summer residencies in Chicago; in-person attendance mandatory
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Chicago campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction