Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Master of Fine Arts in Studio Art (MFA), Low Residency option

Maine College of Art & Design · Maine College of Art & Design · Portland, Maine, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Studio ArtMFA
Subject
Studio Arts
Format
Low residencytwo-year, six-term curriculum
Tuition
$1,492per credit, year not stated on page

Low-residency program

Attendance at residencies is mandatory. This program is not fully online; the residency details are listed under study structure.

About this program

A two-year, six-term MFA in studio art offered in full-residency and low-residency options with the same curriculum; low-residency students work from home between on-campus intensives.

Department
Maine College of Art & Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Studio ArtMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Studio ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
Low residencyMostly distance study with required periods on site (residencies). It is never described as fully online.
Online instruction
Distance study with required residencies
Campus studio required
Not published
Campus residencies or workshops
On campus for Summer Intensive, additional intensives, and research field trips.
Residency frequency
Summer Intensive plus additional intensives and research field trips (schedule not detailed on page)
Residency length
eight-week Summer Intensive
Residency location
Portland, Maine
Attendance mandatory
Yes
Travel expectations
Not published
Online components
Study from home during Fall and Spring terms.
Additional residency costs
Not published
Live attendance
Live attendance not published
International enrolment
Not published
Study mode
Not published
Duration
two-year, six-term curriculum
Credits
30 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Campus attendance
On campus for Summer Intensive, additional intensives, and research field trips.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Portland campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition per creditTuition · mandatory$1,492per credit, year not stated on pageAll students23 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 23 October 2026)

Suggest a correction