Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

MFA in Studio Art

The University of Texas at Austin · Department of Art and Art History · Austin, Texas, United States

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Subject
Studio Arts
Format
On campusFour semesters
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Multidisciplinary studio MFA organised around five areas including painting and drawing, printmaking, sculpture and transmedia.

Department
Department of Art and Art History
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Studio ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Four semesters
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Austin campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
TOEFL or IELTS Language Test Score (international applicants only)

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Portfolio deadlines: Recommended completion December 15; final application deadline January 5, 11:59 PM (the page does not state the year); fall admission only
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Not published
Statement
Statement of Purpose
Tests explicitly required
A GRE score is not required
Documents
3 Letters of Recommendation; Statement of Purpose; Resume; Portfolio of Visual Work
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Tuition waivers for out-of-state and international students Tuition remission

    Only for certain applicants · Forgive the non-resident portion of tuition

    Eligibility: Out-of-state and international students

    Source

  • Fellowships Fellowship

    Competitive

    Eligibility: All incoming students are automatically considered

    Source

  • Teaching assistantships Assistantship

    Competitive · 20-hour appointments pay the majority of tuition, a stipend, and health insurance

    Renewal conditions: Appointments are made on a semesterly basis rather than annually

    Eligibility: All students are considered for appointment

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction