Bachelor’s degree · BFA
Bachelor of Fine Arts in Studio Art
The University of Texas at Austin · Department of Art and Art History · Austin, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Bachelor of Fine ArtsBFA
- Subject
- Studio Arts
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Studio art degree oriented toward developing a professional independent artistic practice, with coursework across five areas of study.
- Department
- Department of Art and Art History
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Bachelor of Fine ArtsBFA
- Award family
- BFAA Bachelor of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Studio Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Austin campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 12-15 pieces of work, with 2 being from direct observation
- Accepted media: Photos and Slides: .bmp, .gif, .jpg, .jpeg, .png, .tif, .tiff; Document Files: .doc, .docx, .odg, .odp, .odt, .pdf, .ppt, .pptx, .rtf, .wpd
- File requirements: Each artwork uploaded separately, with title, dimensions, medium and description
- Portfolio deadlines: Application Deadline: December 1 (the page does not state the year)
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Artist Statement describing the art you make and why you make it
- Documents
- Portfolio and Artist Statement submitted with the UT Austin application
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)