Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

M.F.A. in Studio Art

University of South Carolina · School of Visual Art and Design · Columbia, South Carolina, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) in Studio ArtMFA
Subject
Studio ArtsPainting (concentration)Drawing (concentration)
Format
On campusthree-year
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Three-year, 60-credit studio MFA with major and minor areas of concentration.

Department
School of Visual Art and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) in Studio ArtMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Studio ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
PaintingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PaintingStudents choose it after enrolment“pursue major and minor areas of concentration in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, and sculpture.”Source
DrawingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.DrawingStudents choose it after enrolment“pursue major and minor areas of concentration in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, and sculpture.”Source
PrintmakingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PrintmakingStudents choose it after enrolment“pursue major and minor areas of concentration in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, and sculpture.”Source
PhotographyOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PhotographyStudents choose it after enrolment“pursue major and minor areas of concentration in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, and sculpture.”Source
CeramicsOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.CeramicsStudents choose it after enrolment“pursue major and minor areas of concentration in drawing, painting, printmaking, photography, ceramics, and sculpture.”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
three-year
Credits
60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
USC Columbia campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction