Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts (Fine Arts)
University of Pennsylvania · Stuart Weitzman School of Design - Fine Arts · Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine ArtsStudio Arts
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Two-year studio MFA for working artists with seminar courses and visiting critics.
- Department
- Stuart Weitzman School of Design - Fine Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Studio Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Fall 2027
- Campus
- Penn campus, Philadelphia210 S 34th St, Philadelphia, PA 19104
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 20 RGB JPEGs; up to 5 videos for the MFA, each up to 10 minutes
- Accepted media: Still images and video
- File requirements: One PDF no larger than 30 MB
- Written components: Writing samples are not accepted and are deleted if uploaded into the portfolio
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Personal statement and community essay
- Documents
- Online application; portfolio; 3 recommendation letters; personal statement and community essay
- Deadlines
- Application deadline for Fall 2027 enrollment: January 13, 2027 (MFA) · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $80one-time, Fall 2027 admissions | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Teaching assistantships for incoming MFA students Assistantship
Basis not stated
Eligibility: Offered to all incoming students, per the program page
Weitzman merit-based scholarships Scholarship
Competitive
Eligibility: US and non-US citizens; awarded on the merits of the application by the admissions committee, no separate application
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)