Master’s degree · MFA
M.F.A. in Art
University of Miami · Department of Art and Art History · Coral Gables, Florida, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine ArtsCeramics (concentration)Painting (concentration)
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year MFA in one of five concentrations. Subject links show the concentrations except that illustration is covered by the combined digital imaging concentration.
- Department
- Department of Art and Art History
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Ceramics | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | CeramicsHow students choose it is not published“The graduate degree program includes the M.F.A. in one of five areas of concentration: Ceramics, Digital Imaging-Illustration/Photography, Painting, Printmaking, or Sculpture.”Source |
| Painting | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PaintingHow students choose it is not published“The graduate degree program includes the M.F.A. in one of five areas of concentration: Ceramics, Digital Imaging-Illustration/Photography, Painting, Printmaking, or Sculpture.”Source |
| Printmaking | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PrintmakingHow students choose it is not published“The graduate degree program includes the M.F.A. in one of five areas of concentration: Ceramics, Digital Imaging-Illustration/Photography, Painting, Printmaking, or Sculpture.”Source |
| Sculpture | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | SculptureHow students choose it is not published“The graduate degree program includes the M.F.A. in one of five areas of concentration: Ceramics, Digital Imaging-Illustration/Photography, Painting, Printmaking, or Sculpture.”Source |
| Photography | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | Digital Imaging-Illustration/PhotographyHow students choose it is not published“The graduate degree program includes the M.F.A. in one of five areas of concentration: Ceramics, Digital Imaging-Illustration/Photography, Painting, Printmaking, or Sculpture.”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Coral Gables campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- A copy of your TOEFL exam, showing a minimum score of 80 (for international students only)
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: Not to exceed 20 digital images
- File requirements: Single combined PDF; the system does not permit multiple documents
- Platform: Department MFA Application Portal
- Written components: Personal statement of interest in the MFA program
- Portfolio deadlines: MFA applications are considered only for the Fall semester; the application process opens on October 1 of each year (the 2026 deadlines printed on the page have passed)
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Personal statement about previous academic training and interest in the MFA program
- Academic prerequisites
- Transcripts must show no less than 3.0 for the overall GPA
- Documents
- Three letters of recommendation; official transcripts; personal statement; portfolio PDF; Teaching Assistantship application form if seeking financial assistance
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Graduate School application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $85one-time, current (page undated) | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Teaching assistantships Assistantship
Competitive · Stipend of $27,915 per year plus a full tuition waiver and subsidized health insurance
Eligibility: Applicants who submit the Teaching Assistantship application form; not guaranteed with admission
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)