Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts (Visual Art)
The University of Melbourne · Victorian College of the Arts · Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Studio Arts (concentration)
- Format
- On campus2 years full time / 4 years part time
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A research master's with a creative-work and written thesis, offered in Visual Art among several discipline areas.
- Department
- Victorian College of the Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Studio Arts | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Visual ArtHow students choose it is not published“The Master of Fine Arts is offered in the following discipline areas:”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Verified in official recordTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)Institutional accreditation or recognitionFull statusAU
Scope: TEQSA National Register provider page for The University of Melbourne: category Australian University; self-accrediting authority: Yes. Institution-wide, not program accreditation.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- 2 years full time / 4 years part time
- Intakes
- March
- Campus
- Southbank campus
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Australian Government Research Training Program (RTP) places Scholarship
Basis not stated
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)