Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

MFA in Visual Art

University of Kansas · Department of Visual Art · Lawrence, Kansas, United States

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Subject
Fine ArtsCeramics (concentration)Jewelry and Metalsmithing (concentration)
Format
On campusdesigned to take three years
Tuition
Not published

About this program

An interdisciplinary MFA designed to take three years across seven studio areas.

Department
Department of Visual Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
CeramicsOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.CeramicsHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source
Jewelry and MetalsmithingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Metalsmithing and JewelryHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source
PaintingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Painting and DrawingHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source
PrintmakingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PrintmakingHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source
SculptureOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.SculptureHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source
Textile DesignOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Textiles and FibersHow students choose it is not published“The MFA program is Interdisciplinary in its approach and grads work with all faculty in the program among our seven studio areas; Ceramics, Expanded Media, Metalsmithing and Jewelry, Painting and Drawing, Printmaking, Sculpture, Textiles and Fibers.”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
designed to take three years
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Lawrence campus1467 Jayhawk Blvd.

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 23 October 2026)

Suggest a correction