Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

MFA in Industrial Design

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · School of Art & Design · Champaign, Illinois, United States

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Industrial DesignMFA
Subject
Industrial Design
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Graduate industrial design degree offered as an MDes or an MFA.

Department
School of Art & Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in Industrial DesignMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Industrial DesignDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

  • Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)Institutional accreditation or recognitionUS

    Scope: School of Art & Design (school-stated)

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Urbana-Champaign campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Graduate funding package (assistantship and/or fellowship) Assistantship

    Basis not stated · Funding packages include a monthly stipend, a full (out-of-state) tuition waiver and a partial campus fee waiver; a nine-month 25% appointment stipend is $12,100.05 before taxes for the academic year

    Renewal conditions: Funding decisions and assistantship assignments are made on a semester-by-semester basis; students in good standing making clear progress can assume funding will continue for the normal duration of time to degree

    Eligibility: Graduate students in the School of Art & Design (except MDes in Industrial Design and EdM in Art Education)

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction