Master’s degree · MA
MA in Art History
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign · School of Art & Design · Champaign, Illinois, United States
- Official award
- Master of Arts in Art HistoryMA
- Subject
- Art History
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Graduate art history degree.
- Department
- School of Art & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Arts in Art HistoryMA
- Award family
- MAA Master of Arts. It is not relabelled as an MFA.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Art History | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)Institutional accreditation or recognitionUS
Scope: School of Art & Design (school-stated)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Urbana-Champaign campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Graduate funding package (assistantship and/or fellowship) Assistantship
Basis not stated · Funding packages include a monthly stipend, a full (out-of-state) tuition waiver and a partial campus fee waiver; a nine-month 25% appointment stipend is $12,100.05 before taxes for the academic year · Normal time to degree: 2 years
Renewal conditions: Funding decisions and assistantship assignments are made on a semester-by-semester basis; students in good standing making clear progress can assume funding will continue for the normal duration of time to degree
Eligibility: Graduate students in the School of Art & Design (except MDes in Industrial Design and EdM in Art Education)
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)