Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts in Photography | Video
University of Houston · School of Art · Houston, Texas, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- PhotographyFilm and Video Production
- Format
- On campusThree-year, studio-intensive
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year studio-intensive MFA in photography and video.
- Department
- School of Art
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Photography | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Film and Video Production | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | Students choose it after enrolment“MASTERS OF FINE ARTS IN PHOTOGRAPHY | VIDEO (MFA)”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Three-year, studio-intensive
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Houston campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: Twenty examples of current work (minimum 20 examples of original work)
- File requirements: Single PDF; video/multimedia optional as separate uploads; URLs of online work listed in a PDF
- Written components: Numbered documentation list with title, URL, goals, description and date completed for each work
- Portfolio deadlines: Priority deadline is January 15 for fall admission (the page does not state the year); later applications considered if space is available
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Brief statement expressing graduate study reasons and indicating your concentration area (PDF)
- Documents
- Statement of intent; resume/CV; portfolio of 20 examples
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)