Art Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s degree · BFA

Bachelor of Fine Arts in Photography | Video

University of Houston · School of Art · Houston, Texas, United States

Official program pageOfficial admissionsRequest information
Official award
Bachelor of Fine ArtsBFA
Subject
PhotographyFilm and Video Production
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Undergraduate photography and video BFA.

Department
School of Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Bachelor of Fine ArtsBFA
Award family
BFAA Bachelor of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Bachelor’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
PhotographyDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
Film and Video ProductionNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.Students choose it after enrolment“BACHELOR OF FINE ARTS IN PHOTOGRAPHY | VIDEO (BFA)”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Houston campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Number of works: 2–4 examples of work created within the past two years
  • Accepted media: Drawing, digital art, graphic design, painting, photography, sculpture and video; submissions do not need to match the intended area of study
  • File requirements: Images: .jpeg, .png, .gif, .pdf (up to 5MB each); video: .m4V, .mov, .mp4, .mpeg, .mpg (up to 30MB each, under 3 minutes)
  • Platform: Kathrine G. McGovern School of Art application (physical portfolios not accepted)
  • Written components: 250-word statement saved as PDF
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Not published
Statement
250-word statement describing why you want to pursue an art or design degree
Documents
Online portfolio and statement submitted through the School of Art application
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction