Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts, Department of Visual Arts
University of Chicago · Department of Visual Arts · Chicago, Illinois, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campustwo years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
A two-year studio MFA for artists working across sculpture, photography, painting, installation, performance, video and new media; each student has an individual studio space.
- Department
- Department of Visual Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- two years
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Hyde Park campus (Logan Center for the Arts)
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- All applicants for whom English is not a primary language may be required to submit current scores from the Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) or the International English Language Testing System (IELTS).
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Platform: Online application portal
- Written components: One or two-page artist's statement; three to four letters of recommendation
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- One or two-page artist's statement
- Tests explicitly required
- GRE scores are not required for admission to Visual Arts.
- Documents
- Online portfolioArtist's statementThree to four letters of recommendation
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)