Art Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · PhD

Visual Arts PhD

University of California, San Diego · Department of Visual Arts · San Diego, California, United States

Official award
Doctor of Philosophy in Visual Arts: Art History, Theory and CriticismPhD
Subject
Art HistoryStudio Arts (concentration)
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Doctoral program in art history, theory and criticism, with an art practice concentration chosen at application.

Department
Department of Visual Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctor of Philosophy in Visual Arts: Art History, Theory and CriticismPhD
Award family
PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
Academic level
Research doctorate
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Art HistoryDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
Studio ArtsOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Art Practice ConcentrationApplicants apply to this pathway“The Art Practice Concentration degree, which must be applied for at the time of application to the PhD program”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
University of California, San Diego

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
Department of Visual Arts

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction