Art Schools Worldwide

Bachelor’s degree · BA / BA (Hons)

Media major

University of California, San Diego · Department of Visual Arts · San Diego, California, United States

Official award
Bachelor of Arts, major: MediaBA
Subject
New Media Arts
Format
On campus
Tuition
$16,278per year, 2027-28

About this program

Media major in the Department of Visual Arts. The page does not state the exact degree title; recorded as a BA major.

Department
Department of Visual Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Bachelor of Arts, major: MediaBA
Award family
BA / BA (Hons)A Bachelor of Arts (including BA (Hons)). It is not relabelled as a BFA.
Academic level
Bachelor’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
New Media ArtsNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“The Department of Visual Arts offers five undergraduate majors: Art History Theory and Criticism, Media, Studio, Interdisciplinary Computing and the Arts (ICAM) and Speculative Design.”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
University of California, San Diego

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
UC Tuition for new California resident undergraduates (systemwide tuition plus student services fees)Tuition$16,278per year, 2027-28In-state residents23 October 2026Source
UC Tuition for new nonresident undergraduatesTuition$57,300per year, 2027-28Out-of-state students23 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction