Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Art Practice MFA

University of California, Berkeley · Department of Art Practice · Berkeley, California, United States

Official award
Master of Fine Arts (MFA) Degree in Art PracticeMFA
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Two-year MFA in art practice with professional art training.

Department
Department of Art Practice
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts (MFA) Degree in Art PracticeMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
University of California, Berkeley

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Bachelor's degree from an accredited institution, minimum GPA of 3.0 for the last two years of upper-division coursework
Tests explicitly required
GRE not required
Documents
Portfolio of 15 to 20 still images; three letters of recommendation
Deadlines
  • MFA Application Deadline: December 15, 2026 (8:59pm PT)

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Fellowships, teaching assistantships and departmental awards Fellowship

    Competitive · All students also receive moderate materials grants for their studio practices

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 23 October 2026)

Suggest a correction