Master’s degree · MFA
Graduate School of Fine Arts, Department of Painting (Master’s)
Tokyo University of the Arts · Faculty of Fine Arts / Graduate School of Fine Arts · Ueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan
- Official award
- MFA Course, Graduate School of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Painting
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- ¥642,960per year, as published (no year stated)
About this program
Master’s-level studio research in painting courses at the Graduate School of Fine Arts.
- Department
- Faculty of Fine Arts / Graduate School of Fine Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- MFA Course, Graduate School of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Painting | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Ueno Campus12-8 Ueno-Koen, Taito-ku, Tokyo 110-8714
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Annual tuition fee as listed in the fee tableTuition · mandatory | ¥642,960per year, as published (no year stated) | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Japanese Government (MEXT) scholarship Scholarship
Only for certain applicants · MEXT scholarship students are exempted from the admission and tuition fees
Eligibility: Students from overseas
University tuition fee waiver / deferral Tuition remission
Competitive
Eligibility: Exceptionally high-achieving students who have difficulty paying tuition for economic reasons
Study Support Scholarship (benefit type) Scholarship
Competitive · 50,000 yen per semester (100,000 yen per year; repayment not required)
Eligibility: Students who find it difficult to pay tuition for financial reasons but do not meet the high-scholastic-standing standard for tuition exemption
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)