Art Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · Other research doctorate

Graduate School of Fine Arts, Department of Painting (Doctoral)

Tokyo University of the Arts · Faculty of Fine Arts / Graduate School of Fine Arts · Ueno, Taito-ku, Tokyo, Japan

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctoral Degree
Subject
Painting
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Doctoral research combining creative work and a dissertation in painting.

Department
Faculty of Fine Arts / Graduate School of Fine Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctoral Degree
Award family
Other research doctorateA research doctorate with a title other than PhD (for example DPhil, Dr. phil. or Doctor of Fine Arts).
Academic level
Research doctorate
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
PaintingDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Ueno Campus12-8 Ueno-Koen, Taito-ku, Tokyo 110-8714

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
Department of Painting
Practice-based research
Practice-based and written components

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Japanese Government (MEXT) scholarship Scholarship

    Only for certain applicants · MEXT scholarship students are exempted from the admission and tuition fees

    Eligibility: Students from overseas

    Source

  • University tuition fee waiver / deferral Tuition remission

    Competitive

    Eligibility: Exceptionally high-achieving students who have difficulty paying tuition for economic reasons

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction