Art Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · Other research doctorate

Graduate School of Art and Design, Doctoral Degree Program

Tama Art University · Faculty of Art and Design · Hachioji, Tokyo, Japan

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctoral degree program, Graduate School of Art and Design
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
On campus
Tuition
¥1,237,000per year, amounts as of 4/1/2027

About this program

Single-major doctoral program balancing practical and theoretical study of artistic creation regardless of genre.

Department
Faculty of Art and Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctoral degree program, Graduate School of Art and Design
Award family
Other research doctorateA research doctorate with a title other than PhD (for example DPhil, Dr. phil. or Doctor of Fine Arts).
Academic level
Research doctorate
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsNamed majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award.“the Doctoral Degree Program has only one art major”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Hachioji Campus2-1723 Yarimizu, Hachioji, Tokyo 192-0394

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Differences by campus or pathway
The English pages do not state the awarded degree title or the language of instruction.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Department
Graduate School of Art and Design
Practice-based research
Practice-based and written components

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition, Graduate School of Art and Design (yearly total of the two installments)Tuition · mandatory¥1,237,000per year, amounts as of 4/1/2027All students23 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically.

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction