Master’s degree · MFA
MFA in Design
Rutgers University-New Brunswick · Art & Design, Mason Gross School of the Arts · New Brunswick, New Jersey, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in DesignMFA
- Subject
- Visual Communication Design
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Graduate MFA in design.
- Department
- Art & Design, Mason Gross School of the Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in DesignMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Visual Communication Design | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- New Brunswick campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 20 images representing the range of the applicant's work as a designer
- Accepted media: Images; time-based work up to 10 minutes via Vimeo/YouTube links acceptable
- File requirements: Images up to 5 MB each and videos up to 250 MB each
- Subject-specific instructions: Detail shots can be included
- Written components: Statement of research interests
- Interview: Finalists are contacted to schedule in-person or virtual interviews
- Portfolio deadlines: Rutgers University Application: January 1; Mason Gross Talent Assessment: January 9 (the page prints no year)
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Statement
- Statement of research interests
- Documents
- Rutgers application; Mason Gross Talent Assessment with statement of research interests, three letters of recommendation, portfolio
Source could not be re-checked automatically.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Rutgers University application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $70one-time, current cycle (year not printed) | All students | 23 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
| Mason Gross Talent Assessment feeApplication fee · mandatory | $25one-time, current cycle (year not printed) | All students | 23 October 2026SourceSource could not be re-checked automatically. |
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Financial assistance for MFA in Design students Funding
Basis not stated
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)