Art Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · PhD

PhD (Art)

RMIT University · School of Art · Melbourne, Victoria, Australia

Official award
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)PhD
Subject
Fine Arts
Format
On campusFull-time 3-4 years; Part-time 6-8 years
Tuition
A$39,360per year, 2027

About this program

A project-based on-campus doctoral research degree in art at the School of Art in Melbourne.

Department
School of Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)PhD
Award family
PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
Academic level
Research doctorate
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

  • Verified in official recordTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)Institutional accreditation or recognitionFull statusAU

    Scope: TEQSA National Register provider page for Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology: category Australian University; self-accrediting authority: Yes. Institution-wide, not program accreditation.

    Dates: not stated to 11 November 2032

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time, Part-time
Duration
Full-time 3-4 years; Part-time 6-8 years
Intakes
Continuous
Campus
Melbourne City campus

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published
Previous qualification
Four-year bachelor degree with honours in a relevant discipline

Research degree details

Department
School of Art
Practice-based research
Practice-based

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
International annual fee 2027TuitionA$39,360per year, 2027International students23 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction