Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Art
RMIT University · School of Art · Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campusFull-time 2 years / Part-time 4 years
- Tuition
- A$39,360per year, 2027
About this program
A project-based research master's degree in fine art (MR208).
- Department
- School of Art
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Verified in official recordTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)Institutional accreditation or recognitionFull statusAU
Scope: TEQSA National Register provider page for Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology: category Australian University; self-accrediting authority: Yes. Institution-wide, not program accreditation.
Dates: not stated to 11 November 2032
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time, Part-time
- Duration
- Full-time 2 years / Part-time 4 years
- Intakes
- Continuous
- Campus
- Melbourne City campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- Four-year bachelor degree with honours in a relevant discipline
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| International annual tuition fee 2027Tuition | A$39,360per year, 2027 | International students | 23 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Research Training Scheme (domestic fee support) Funding
Basis not stated
Eligibility: Domestic students
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)