Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Textiles MFA

Rhode Island School of Design · Rhode Island School of Design · Providence, Rhode Island, United States

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Subject
Textile Design
Format
On campus
Tuition
$66,460per year, 2026-27

About this program

Graduate studio degree in textiles.

Department
Rhode Island School of Design
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine ArtsMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Not published
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Textile DesignDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

  • Stated by the schoolNew England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)Institutional accreditation or recognitionUS

    Scope: Institution-wide accreditation, as listed in RISD's disclosures

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
RISD Providence campus20 Washington Place, Providence, RI 02903

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
RISD requires a minimum result of 5 (previously 93) on the TOEFL, a 7 on the IELTS, or a 120 on Duolingo.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Number of works: 10-20 examples of visual work
  • Platform: Use SlideRoom to submit your graduate portfolio .
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Not published
Statement
Graduate applicants must submit a written statement (500-750 words) outlining your interest and goals in pursuing graduate study.
Documents
three letters of recommendation; unofficial transcripts; application form
Deadlines
  • JAN 5 Graduate application deadline (2027 application requirements)
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Tuition 2026-27 (RISD billing page, one table for the academic year)Tuition$66,460per year, 2026-27listed on the Student Accounts billing page without a split by level23 October 2026Source
Graduate application feeApplication fee$60one-time, 2027 applicationAll students23 October 2026Source

No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Society of Presidential Fellows Fellowship

    Competitive · full tuition support · for the duration of their studies

    Eligibility: All applicants admitted into a RISD graduate program for academic year 2026-27 will be considered; admitted applicants are nominated by their academic department or program.

    Source

  • Graduate assistantships Assistantship

    Basis not stated

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required.

Sources and how this was checked