Master’s degree · MFA
Jewelry + Metalsmithing MFA
Rhode Island School of Design · Rhode Island School of Design · Providence, Rhode Island, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Jewelry and Metalsmithing
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- $66,460per year, 2026-27
About this program
Graduate studio degree in jewelry and metalsmithing.
- Department
- Rhode Island School of Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Jewelry and Metalsmithing | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Stated by the schoolNew England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)Institutional accreditation or recognitionUS
Scope: Institution-wide accreditation, as listed in RISD's disclosures
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- RISD Providence campus20 Washington Place, Providence, RI 02903
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- RISD requires a minimum result of 5 (previously 93) on the TOEFL, a 7 on the IELTS, or a 120 on Duolingo.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 10-20 examples of visual work
- Platform: Use SlideRoom to submit your graduate portfolio .
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Graduate applicants must submit a written statement (500-750 words) outlining your interest and goals in pursuing graduate study.
- Documents
- three letters of recommendation; unofficial transcripts; application form
- Deadlines
- JAN 5 Graduate application deadline (2027 application requirements)
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition 2026-27 (RISD billing page, one table for the academic year)Tuition | $66,460per year, 2026-27 | listed on the Student Accounts billing page without a split by level | 23 October 2026Source |
| Graduate application feeApplication fee | $60one-time, 2027 application | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Society of Presidential Fellows Fellowship
Competitive · full tuition support · for the duration of their studies
Eligibility: All applicants admitted into a RISD graduate program for academic year 2026-27 will be considered; admitted applicants are nominated by their academic department or program.
Graduate assistantships Assistantship
Basis not stated
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)