Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Art, M.F.A.

The Pennsylvania State University · School of Visual Arts, College of Arts and Architecture · University Park, Pennsylvania, United States

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in ArtMFA
Subject
Fine ArtsCeramics (concentration)Painting (concentration)
Format
On campus
Tuition
Not published

About this program

60-credit studio MFA with students situating their work within one of six areas of concentration.

Department
School of Visual Arts, College of Arts and Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts in ArtMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Fine ArtsDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.
CeramicsOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.CeramicsStudents choose it after enrolment“in the areas of ceramics, drawing & painting, graphic design, new media, photography, and sculpture”Source
PaintingOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Drawing & PaintingStudents choose it after enrolment“in the areas of ceramics, drawing & painting, graphic design, new media, photography, and sculpture”Source
SculptureOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.SculptureStudents choose it after enrolment“in the areas of ceramics, drawing & painting, graphic design, new media, photography, and sculpture”Source
PhotographyOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.PhotographyStudents choose it after enrolment“in the areas of ceramics, drawing & painting, graphic design, new media, photography, and sculpture”Source
Graphic DesignOfficial concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page.Graphic DesignStudents choose it after enrolment“in the areas of ceramics, drawing & painting, graphic design, new media, photography, and sculpture”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
Not published
Intakes
Not published
Campus
University Park campusUniversity Park, PA 16802

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Number of works: No fewer than twenty examples, the majority in the applicant's area of interest
  • Accepted media: Digital images rather than actual work
  • Written components: Statement of professional aims
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Not published
Statement
Statement of professional aims
Previous qualification
Bachelor's degree from a U.S. regionally accredited institution or equivalent
Academic prerequisites
At least 12 credits of art history at the undergraduate level are strongly suggested
Documents
Portfolio of digital images; statement of professional aims; three letters of reference

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Graduate assistantships Assistantship

    Basis not stated

    Eligibility: Available to students in this program per the Graduate Bulletin; details in the Graduate School Tuition and Funding pages

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Sources (checked 23 October 2026)

Suggest a correction