Master’s degree · MFA
MFA in Visual Arts
The Ohio State University · Department of Art · Columbus, Ohio, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine ArtsCeramics (concentration)Painting (concentration)
- Format
- On campusthree-year
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Interdisciplinary three-year MFA with facilities in art and technology, ceramics, film/video, glass, painting and drawing, photography, printmaking and sculpture.
- Department
- Department of Art
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Ceramics | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | CeramicsHow students choose it is not published“The Ohio State University Department of Art offers an interdisciplinary MFA in Visual Arts with facilities and faculty in: Art and Technology, Ceramics, Film/Video, Glass, Painting and Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.”Source |
| Painting | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | Painting and DrawingHow students choose it is not published“The Ohio State University Department of Art offers an interdisciplinary MFA in Visual Arts with facilities and faculty in: Art and Technology, Ceramics, Film/Video, Glass, Painting and Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.”Source |
| Photography | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PhotographyHow students choose it is not published“The Ohio State University Department of Art offers an interdisciplinary MFA in Visual Arts with facilities and faculty in: Art and Technology, Ceramics, Film/Video, Glass, Painting and Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.”Source |
| Printmaking | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PrintmakingHow students choose it is not published“The Ohio State University Department of Art offers an interdisciplinary MFA in Visual Arts with facilities and faculty in: Art and Technology, Ceramics, Film/Video, Glass, Painting and Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.”Source |
| Sculpture | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | SculptureHow students choose it is not published“The Ohio State University Department of Art offers an interdisciplinary MFA in Visual Arts with facilities and faculty in: Art and Technology, Ceramics, Film/Video, Glass, Painting and Drawing, Photography, Printmaking, and Sculpture.”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- three-year
- Credits
- 66 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Columbus campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: No more than 20 examples
- Accepted media: Images, video, audio, PDF, 3D models, and embedded media
- File requirements: Do not upload high-resolution (HD) videos. Use compression formats, such as MP4
- Platform: SlideRoom
- Written components: Statement of intent; CV or resume; three references
- Portfolio deadlines: International applicants November 30; recommended domestic deadline December 15; final deadline January 6 (years not printed beside these dates)
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Statement of intent submitted in SlideRoom
- Documents
- Graduate School applicationSlideRoom applicationPortfolioStatement of intentCV or resumeTranscriptsThree online references
- Deadlines
- The applicant must follow up with all recommenders to upload their letters by December 15, 2026.
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| SlideRoom Application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $10one-time, year not stated on page | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Graduate Associateship or Fellowship Assistantship
Basis not stated · Full tuition and fee authorization covering all instructional and general fees (including non-resident fees), a stipend, and subsidized health insurance · Duration not stated on the page
Renewal conditions: Graduate School fellowships are nonrenewable and may not be deferred
Eligibility: All students admitted to the MFA program
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)