Research doctorate · PhD
Graduate School of Art and Design, Doctoral Course (造形研究科博士後期課程)
Musashino Art University · Faculty of Art and Design (造形学部) · Kodaira, Tokyo, Japan
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Art and Design
- Subject
- Fine Arts (concentration)
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year doctoral course in three research areas (art, design, theory); completion requires a doctoral thesis and a final examination.
- Department
- Faculty of Art and Design (造形学部)
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy in Art and Design
- Award family
- PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
- Academic level
- Research doctorate
- Previous degree required
- Not published
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Takanodai Campus東京都小平市小川町1-736
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Japanese-language program pages; the official site does not state the teaching language in so many words.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Graduate School of Art and Design
- Practice-based research
- Practice-based and written components
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)