Master’s degree · Other master’s award
Studiengang Freie Kunst
Kunstakademie Münster · Kunstakademie Münster · Münster, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
- Official award
- Akademiebrief (entspricht einem Diplom)
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campusRegelstudienzeit: 10 Semester
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Ten-semester studio programme in Freie Kunst: two orientation semesters followed by eight semesters in an artistic class, completed with the Akademiebrief that corresponds to a Diplom.
- Department
- Kunstakademie Münster
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Akademiebrief (entspricht einem Diplom)
- Award family
- Other master’s awardAnother earned master’s-level award, such as MSc, MS, MEd, MRes, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Regelstudienzeit: 10 Semester
- Studio requirements
- Orientierungsstudium (2 Semester), then Atelierstudium in einer künstlerischen Klasse (8 Semester)
- Intakes
- winter semester 2027-28
- Campus
- Kunstakademie Münster
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Proof of German language skills must be presented with the online application for international applicants (page marks this change as pending senate approval on 17.11.2026); recommended level B1 for Freie Kunst per the page text.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredAssessment of artistic aptitude is by submitted portfolio, once a year.
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: at least 20 artistic works as originals; applying exclusively with films/videos: at least three films/videos (max. 350 MB each)
- Accepted media: No specific medium, technique or theme is specified (painting, drawing, sculpture, photography, installations, film/video, performances, digital art, sound works, texts, sketchbooks ...)
- File requirements: Films/videos as individual mp4 files; documents as PDF
- Platform: Kunstakademie online application platform; portfolio in person or by post
- Portfolio deadlines: Portfolio submission in person 14.04.-16.04.2027
- Interview
- Not published
- Previous qualification
- General higher education entrance qualification or other school leaving certificate; page states certificates must be uploaded (see page)
- Tests explicitly required
- The assessment test for artistic aptitude takes place only once a year in the spring
- Documents
- Upload PDF with diploma and CV in tabular form; entrance qualification certificate; artistic works (films as individual mp4 files)
- Deadlines
- Online application 1 March to 15 March 2027 (winter semester 2027-28); personal portfolio submission 14.04.-16.04.2027 · winter semester 2027-28
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)