Master’s degree · MFA
M.F.A. in Studio Art
Indiana University Bloomington · Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design · Bloomington, Indiana, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Studio ArtMFA
- Subject
- Studio ArtsCeramics (concentration)Painting (concentration)
- Format
- On campusthree years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Three-year studio MFA with areas including ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking and sculpture.
- Department
- Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Studio ArtMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Studio Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Ceramics | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | CeramicsHow students choose it is not published“The M.F.A. in Studio Art at the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design offers artists intensive study and research in ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.”Source |
| Painting | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PaintingHow students choose it is not published“The M.F.A. in Studio Art at the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design offers artists intensive study and research in ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.”Source |
| Photography | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PhotographyHow students choose it is not published“The M.F.A. in Studio Art at the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design offers artists intensive study and research in ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.”Source |
| Printmaking | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | PrintmakingHow students choose it is not published“The M.F.A. in Studio Art at the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design offers artists intensive study and research in ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.”Source |
| Sculpture | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | SculptureHow students choose it is not published“The M.F.A. in Studio Art at the Eskenazi School of Art, Architecture + Design offers artists intensive study and research in ceramics, digital art, fibers, graphic design, metalsmithing and jewelry design, painting, photography, printmaking, and sculpture.”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- three years
- Credits
- 60 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Campus attendance
- All programs are three years and require a three-year residency.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Bloomington campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- For international applicants, TOEFL iBT score of 90 or above or IELTS of 7.5 or above
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 20 images
- File requirements: Images must be saved as .jpg, .png or .gif, up to 2MB each, not exceeding 1280 x 1280 pixels at 72 dpi. Videos must be in the .flv, .mov, or .wmv format, under 20MB each.
- Subject-specific instructions: Choose one studio area to pursue: Ceramics, Digital Art, Fibers, Graphic Design, Metalsmithing & Jewelry Design, Painting, Photography, Printmaking, or Sculpture.
- Written components: Statement of intent; three letters of recommendation
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Written statement (500 to 700 words) outlining artistic goals and interest in graduate study
- Previous qualification
- Bachelor's degree with a fine arts major in studio courses or a B.A. in another field with substantial coursework in studio art
- Academic prerequisites
- Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
- Tests explicitly required
- The Graduate Record Examination (GRE) is not a requirement
- Documents
- Online application to the University Graduate SchoolStatement of intent/artist statementResumeThree letters of recommendationPortfolioOfficial transcripts
- Deadlines
- Domestic applicants: all application materials must be received by 5 p.m. on January 15, 2027. · Fall 2027
- International applicants: all application materials must be received by 5 p.m. on December 15, 2026. · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)