Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts (M.F.A.) in Visual Art
Herron School of Art and Design, Indiana University Indianapolis · Herron School of Art and Design · Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Herron's graduate studio degree in visual art.
- Department
- Herron School of Art and Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Stated by the schoolNational Association of Schools of Art and Design (NASAD)Program accreditationUS
Scope: Professional degree program (school-stated in the IU bulletin)
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- IU Indianapolis campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- TOEFL 79 or higher internet-based (550 paper-based) or IELTS 6.5 or higher for international applicants
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: 10 files
- Platform: Herron SlideRoom
- Written components: 500- to 750-word personal statement
- Portfolio deadlines: January 15 (online application, funding consideration), January 22 (supplemental materials, funding consideration), April 1 (online application), April 8 (supplemental materials); year not printed on the page
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Statement
- 500- to 750-word personal statement
- Previous qualification
- Completion of a bachelor's degree
- Academic prerequisites
- Minimum cumulative GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale
- Documents
- Online applicationThree recommendersPersonal statement and resumeOfficial transcriptsPortfolio of 10 files
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| IU Indianapolis online graduate application feeApplication fee · mandatory | $70one-time, year not stated on page | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
| Herron SlideRoom portfolio fee (non-refundable)Other compulsory charge · mandatory | $10one-time, year not stated on page | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)