Bachelor’s degree · BA / BA (Hons)
Bachelor of Arts in Art and Design
Gerrit Rietveld Academie · Gerrit Rietveld Academie · Amsterdam, Netherlands
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts in Art and Design (BA)BA
- Subject
- Fine ArtsGraphic DesignCeramics
- Format
- On campusfour-year bachelor’s degree programme
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year bachelor starting with a general Basicyear, after which students choose a department such as Fine Arts, Graphic Design or Ceramics; the programme is stated to be NVAO accredited.
- Department
- Gerrit Rietveld Academie
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts in Art and Design (BA)BA
- Award family
- BA / BA (Hons)A Bachelor of Arts (including BA (Hons)). It is not relabelled as a BFA.
- Academic level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. | |
| Graphic Design | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | Graphic DesignStudents choose it after enrolment“Within the Gerrit Rietveld Academie’s Graphic Design department”Source |
| Ceramics | Named majorThe official major or program title inside a broader award. | CeramicsStudents choose it after enrolment“Ceramics”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- four-year bachelor’s degree programme
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Gerrit Rietveld Academie
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- Academic IELTS with a minimum overall band score of 6.0 and at least 6.0 for Speaking, unless an exemption listed on the page applies.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredThe academy states it wants varied work in different media and more than assignment-based work, including the candidate's own ideas.
- Portfolio details
- Accepted media: Work made in different media, for example drawings, sketches, paintings, photography, graphic work, 3D work, design work
- File requirements: A PDF with an overview of work over the last few years can be prepared in advance
- Platform: Online consultation interview via Microsoft Teams, portfolio PDF shared on screen
- Interview: Online consultation interview with a tutor to discuss potential suitability; applications start through Studielink from November.
- Portfolio deadlines: Regular consultations run from November to mid-February (year not stated).
- Interview
- Interview required
- Tests explicitly required
- Second-round entrance exam in March for candidates who pass the first round (year not stated on the page).
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)