Master’s degree · MFA
MFA - Master of Fine Arts in Visual Arts
Florida International University · Department of Art + Art History · Miami, Florida, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campus60 credit hours, 3 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Graduate visual arts MFA in the Department of Art + Art History.
- Department
- Department of Art + Art History
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts in Visual ArtsMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 60 credit hours, 3 years
- Credits
- 60 credit hoursCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Modesto Maidique Campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- IELTS 6.5 or TOEFL 550 paper-based/80 internet-based where the language of instruction for the undergraduate degree was not English
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: A portfolio of 20 artwork
- File requirements: Images must be .jpg at the highest available quality (must be under 8MB each)
- Platform: SlideRoom (fiuart.slideroom.com)
- Written components: Statement of intent of no more than 500 words and a CV
- Portfolio deadlines: Fall 27 Deadline February 1, 2027; Spring 28 Deadline October 1, 2027
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Written statement of intent (no more than 500 words)
- Previous qualification
- Successful completion of a bachelor's degree
- Tests explicitly required
- The Department of Art + Art History does not require GRE test scores
- Documents
- Certified transcripts; three letters of recommendation; written statement of intent; CV; portfolio of 20 works via SlideRoom
- Deadlines
- Fall 27 Deadline February 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
- Spring 28 Deadline October 1, 2027 · Spring 2028
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| SlideRoom portfolio submission feeApplication fee · mandatory | $30one-time, current (page undated) | All students | 23 October 2026Source |
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)