Research doctorate · PhD
Ph.D. in Art History
CUNY Graduate School and University Center · Ph.D. Program in Art History · Manhattan, New York City, New York, United States
- Official award
- Ph.D. in Art HistoryPhD
- Subject
- Art History
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Full-time PhD in art history established in 1971, strongest in modern and contemporary art; students devise and teach their own courses at CUNY colleges.
- Department
- Ph.D. Program in Art History
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Ph.D. in Art HistoryPhD
- Award family
- PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
- Academic level
- Research doctorate
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Art History | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- Not published
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Graduate Center, Manhattan
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- Ph.D. Program in Art History
- Practice-based research
- Written thesis
- Research themes
- Modern and Contemporary art
- Latin American, Latinx, and Art of the Americas
- Study modes
- Full-time
- Deadlines
- January 1 for fall enrollment (year not stated on the page); no spring enrollment
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)