Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts, Painting
Cranbrook Academy of Art · Cranbrook Academy of Art · Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts, PaintingMFA
- Subject
- Painting
- Format
- On campustwo-year
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Studio-based graduate MFA in painting at Cranbrook Academy of Art, a graduate-only school.
- Department
- Cranbrook Academy of Art
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts, PaintingMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Painting | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- two-year
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Bloomfield Hills campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Published language requirements
- International students must provide an official TOEFL or IELTS score; minimum IELTS 7
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Number of works: Up to 20 examples of recent work
- File requirements: Instructions on acceptable file types are provided during the upload process in SlideRoom; recommended that no single video exceed 3 minutes
- Platform: SlideRoom
- Written components: Statement of Purpose (1200 words or less); Gilbert Fellowship applicants add a writing sample (1200 words or less)
- Interview: Some departments schedule interviews for top candidates, on campus or by video
- Interview
- Interview possible
- Statement
- Statement of Purpose describing goals and objectives for graduate study (1200 words or less)
- Previous qualification
- Completion of a bachelor's degree from an accredited educational institution; degrees in other fields may be considered on an individual basis based on portfolio and experience
- Documents
- Statement of PurposeCV or resumeTwo letters of recommendationPortfolioUnofficial transcript(s)Application fee
- Deadlines
- To be considered for a Gilbert Fellowship and for priority consideration for all other scholarships, submit your application by February 1, 2027. · Fall 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Gilbert Fellowships Fellowship
Competitive · Up to 10 full-tuition Gilbert Fellowships each year for students from diverse backgrounds
Eligibility: Apply by February 1, 2027; additional statement and writing sample required; late applications are not eligible
Merit scholarships Scholarship
Competitive · Over 50 merit scholarships each year based on submitted portfolios
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)