Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MFA

Master of Fine Arts, Fiber

Cranbrook Academy of Art · Cranbrook Academy of Art · Bloomfield Hills, Michigan, United States

Official award
Master of Fine Arts, FiberMFA
Subject
Textile Design
Format
On campustwo-year
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Studio-based graduate MFA in fiber at Cranbrook Academy of Art, a graduate-only school.

Department
Cranbrook Academy of Art
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Fine Arts, FiberMFA
Award family
MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Textile DesignDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
two-year
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Bloomfield Hills campus

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Published language requirements
International students must provide an official TOEFL or IELTS score; minimum IELTS 7

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio required
Portfolio details
  • Number of works: Up to 20 examples of recent work
  • File requirements: Instructions on acceptable file types are provided during the upload process in SlideRoom; recommended that no single video exceed 3 minutes
  • Platform: SlideRoom
  • Written components: Statement of Purpose (1200 words or less); Gilbert Fellowship applicants add a writing sample (1200 words or less)
  • Interview: Some departments schedule interviews for top candidates, on campus or by video
As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
Interview
Interview possible
Statement
Statement of Purpose describing goals and objectives for graduate study (1200 words or less)
Previous qualification
Completion of a bachelor's degree from an accredited educational institution; degrees in other fields may be considered on an individual basis based on portfolio and experience
Documents
Statement of PurposeCV or resumeTwo letters of recommendationPortfolioUnofficial transcript(s)Application fee
Deadlines
  • To be considered for a Gilbert Fellowship and for priority consideration for all other scholarships, submit your application by February 1, 2027. · Fall 2027
Official instructions
Application instructions

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

ItemAmountApplies toDated
Application fee (Fall 2027)Application fee · mandatory$25one-time, Fall 2027 applicantsAll students23 October 2026Source
Studio deposit on admission offerDeposit · mandatory$1,000one-time, year not stated on pageAll students23 October 2026Source

Scholarships and funding

Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

  • Gilbert Fellowships Fellowship

    Competitive · Up to 10 full-tuition Gilbert Fellowships each year for students from diverse backgrounds

    Eligibility: Apply by February 1, 2027; additional statement and writing sample required; late applications are not eligible

    Source

  • Merit scholarships Scholarship

    Competitive · Over 50 merit scholarships each year based on submitted portfolios

    Source

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, intakes, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction