Research doctorate · PhD
PhD (School of Art & Design Higher Degrees by Research)
Australian National University · School of Art & Design · Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)PhD
- Subject
- Studio Arts (concentration)
- Format
- On campus
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Doctoral research at the School of Art & Design, with a standard thesis or a thesis by creative works with exegesis.
- Department
- School of Art & Design
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Doctor of Philosophy (PhD)PhD
- Award family
- PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
- Academic level
- Research doctorate
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Studio Arts | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Thesis by Creative WorksHow students choose it is not published“A Thesis by Creative Works comprises studio research outcomes and a written exegesis (30,000 words or more)”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
Verified in official recordTertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency (TEQSA)Institutional accreditation or recognitionFull statusAU
Scope: TEQSA National Register provider page for Australian National University: category Australian University; self-accrediting authority: Yes. Institution-wide, not program accreditation.
Dates: not stated to 13 December 2030
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- Not published
- Thesis or dissertation
- Thesis in standard format up to 100,000 words, or thesis by creative works with exegesis of 30,000 words or more
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Canberra campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Interview
- Not published
Research degree details
- Department
- School of Art & Design
- Practice-based research
- Practice-based and written components
- Finding a supervisor
- Applicants meet the proposed supervisor together with the HDR Convenor
- Study modes
- Both full-time and part-time study options are considered.
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Scholarships and funding
Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.
Fieldwork and conference funding and materials grants Grant
Basis not stated
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, duration, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)