Master’s degree · MFA
Master of Fine Arts (Craft)
Alberta University of the Arts · Alberta University of the Arts · Calgary, Alberta, Canada
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts Degree in CraftMFA
- Subject
- Ceramics (concentration)Textile Design (concentration)Jewelry and Metalsmithing (concentration)
- Format
- On campus20 months (five consecutive semesters, starting in September (Fall term) of each year)
- Tuition
- CA$6,250per semester, per semester; academic year not stated on page
About this program
A 20-month, 60-credit MFA in Craft with areas of study including ceramics, fibre and jewellery and metals.
- Department
- Alberta University of the Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Fine Arts Degree in CraftMFA
- Award family
- MFAA Master of Fine Arts, exactly as titled by the awarding institution.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Ceramics | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | CeramicsHow students choose it is not published“Areas of study Ceramics”Source |
| Textile Design | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | FibreHow students choose it is not published“Fibre The breadth and diversity of AUArts”Source |
| Jewelry and Metalsmithing | Official concentrationA formally named concentration, track or emphasis of a broader degree, confirmed on an official page. | Jewellery and MetalsHow students choose it is not published“Jewellery and Metals The Jewellery and Metals program at AUArts”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 20 months (five consecutive semesters, starting in September (Fall term) of each year)
- Credits
- 60 creditsCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Thesis or dissertation
- Thesis Project
- Intakes
- September 2027
- Campus
- AUArts campus
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Portfolio details
- Platform: SlideRoom
- Written components: CV, cover letter, statement of intent
- Interview
- Not published
- Statement
- Statement of Intent
- Documents
- Portfolio, CV, cover letter, statement of intent, two reference letters (via SlideRoom), transcripts
- Deadlines
- Priority Admission Deadline (and Entrance Scholarships) January 15, 2027 · Fall (September) 2027
- General Admissions January 16 to June 1, 2027 · Fall (September) 2027
- Official instructions
- Application instructions
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| MFA tuition, Canadian and permanent residentsTuition · mandatory | CA$6,250per semester, per semester; academic year not stated on page | Canadian and permanent residents | 23 October 2026Source |
| MFA tuition, international studentsTuition · mandatory | CA$12,500per semester, per semester; academic year not stated on page | international students | 23 October 2026Source |
| Application fee (domestic)Application fee · mandatory | CA$110one-time, 2026-27 intake cycle | Domestic Applicants (Canadian citizens, permanent residents, refugees) | 23 October 2026Source |
| Application fee (international)Application fee · mandatory | CA$150one-time, 2026-27 intake cycle | International Applicants (non-Canadian citizens) | 23 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: full-time or part-time options, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)