Research doctorate · PhD
PhD-in-Practice
Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien · Institute of Fine Arts · Wien, Wien, Austria
- Official award
- PhD-in-PracticePhD
- Subject
- Fine Arts (concentration)
- Format
- On campusThe PhD in Practice programme is designed for a study period of four years.
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year doctoral program for arts-based research in artistic practice, run by the Institute of Fine Arts and the Institute of Art Theory and Cultural Studies.
- Department
- Institute of Fine Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- PhD-in-PracticePhD
- Award family
- PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
- Academic level
- Research doctorate
- Previous degree required
- Yes
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Research in artistic practiceHow students choose it is not published“The PhD-in-Practice is a doctoral program for research in artistic practice”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- The PhD in Practice programme is designed for a study period of four years.
- Campus attendance
- Course work in the first two years in focus weeks, one week per month
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
Teaching language
- Taught in
- Not stated on the pages we checked
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- Application material must be submitted in English; language of instruction not stated on the pages read.
- Published language requirements
- Application material must be submitted in English
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio required
- Interview
- Interview required
- Previous qualification
- A degree (Magister, MA or Diplom) from a recognized university/academy
- Deadlines
- Call dates: February 1-March 2, 2026 · 2026/27 · this date has passed; check the current cycle
Research degree details
- Department
- Institute of Fine Arts and Institute of Art Theory and Cultural Studies
- Practice-based research
- Practice-based
- Research proposal
- Project proposal (ten pages max), abstract, CV, digital portfolio, degree certificate (per 2026 call)
- Previous qualifications
- A degree (Magister, MA or Diplom) from a recognized university/academy
- Residency expectations
- Focus weeks one week per month in years one and two
- Deadlines
- Call dates February 1-March 2, 2026 (2026/27 call)
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)