Art Schools Worldwide

Research doctorate · PhD

Doctor of Philosophy/PhD

Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien · Institute of Fine Arts · Wien, Wien, Austria

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
Subject
Art History (concentration)
Format
On campus6 semesters
Tuition
Not published

About this program

Six-semester doctoral program in history and theory of art and cultural studies, with a thesis agreement concluded within the first two semesters.

Department
Institute of Fine Arts
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Doctor of PhilosophyPhD
Award family
PhDA Doctor of Philosophy (PhD). Practice-based and practice-led PhDs are PhDs; other doctoral titles are listed under their own names.
Academic level
Research doctorate
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
Art HistoryDocumented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject.Art history and cultural studiesHow students choose it is not published“experimental research in art history and cultural studies”Source

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Not published
Duration
6 semesters
Credits
180 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Thesis or dissertation
Thesis Agreement (Dissertationsvereinbarung) within the first two semesters
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien

Teaching language

Taught in
Not stated on the pages we checked
English
English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requirement not published
Interview
Not published

Research degree details

Research themes
  • art history
  • cultural studies
Finding a supervisor
Thesis agreement specifying the main parameters of the supervision process
Previous qualifications
Master's or similar degree (Diplomstudium) in humanities/cultural studies, or an artistic diploma or MA, or a teaching diploma or MA

Fees and costs

Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.

Sources and verification

Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, portfolio requirement, accreditation or validation record.

Sources and how this was checked

Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

Suggest a correction