Master’s degree · Other master’s award
Diploma program in Fine Arts
Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien · Institute of Fine Arts · Wien, Wien, Austria
- Official award
- Magister artium (Mag.art.)
- Subject
- Fine Arts
- Format
- On campus4-year Diploma program, two parts of each 2 years
- Tuition
- Not published
About this program
Four-year diploma program in Fine Arts organised in two two-year sections, completed with the degree Magister artium. Admission requires an entrance examination with portfolio.
- Department
- Institute of Fine Arts
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Magister artium (Mag.art.)
- Award family
- Other master’s awardAnother earned master’s-level award, such as MSc, MS, MEd, MRes, Diplom or a locally named qualification, shown with its official title.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Fine Arts | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Not published
- Duration
- 4-year Diploma program, two parts of each 2 years
- Thesis or dissertation
- Diploma thesis (title of the diploma thesis form listed on the curriculum page)
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien
Teaching language
- Taught in
- German
- English
- English teaching not verifiedAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
- Differences by campus or pathway
- German language competency is required by the third semester per the admission page; the language of instruction is not stated explicitly on the pages read.
- Published language requirements
- Proof of German language competency (German B1 or German A2 plus Seminar Foreign Languages for Artists) before registering for the third semester.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requiredEntrance examination: presentation and survey of portfolios with samples of visual art, plus an art exam with interview.
- Interview
- Interview required
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
The institution does not publish tuition for this program on the pages we checked. Ask for current fees, what they include and whether studio, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, travel and residency costs are extra.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: tuition, full-time or part-time options, intakes, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)