Art Schools Worldwide

Master’s degree · MA

Photography, Master of Arts (Art and Design)

Aalto University - School of Arts, Design and Architecture · School of Arts, Design and Architecture · Espoo, Finland

Official program pageRequest information
Official award
Master of Arts (Art and Design)
Subject
Photography
Format
On campus2 years, full-time
Tuition
€20,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page)

About this program

Two-year English-taught master's in photography at Aalto University.

Department
School of Arts, Design and Architecture
Awarding body
Not stated on the pages we checked

Award and subject

The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.

Official award
Master of Arts (Art and Design)
Award family
MAA Master of Arts. It is not relabelled as an MFA.
Academic level
Master’s degree
Previous degree required
Yes
Subject links
SubjectRelationshipDetail
PhotographyDedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject.

Accreditation, validation and recognition

Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.

No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.

Study structure

Delivery
On campusTaught at the listed campus.
Study mode
Full-time
Duration
2 years, full-time
Credits
120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
Intakes
Not published
Campus
Aalto University, OtaniemiOtaniementie 14

Teaching language

Taught in
English
English
Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.

Admissions

Portfolio
Portfolio requiredThe recommended size of the portfolio is 20–30 pages, and it must be uploaded to the system as one (single) PDF file.
Portfolio details
    As published by the school. This directory cannot tell you what makes a portfolio successful and does not guarantee admission.
    Interview
    Not published
    Previous qualification
    Relevant Bachelor's degree
    Documents
    A portfolio, a motivation letter, and a CV; bachelor's degree certificate; transcript of records; proof of language proficiency
    Deadlines
    • 7 Dec 2026 – 5 Jan 2027

    Fees and costs

    Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.

    ItemAmountApplies toDated
    Tuition fee (master's studies)Tuition · mandatory€20,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page)Non-EU/EEA citizens as described on the page23 October 2026Source

    Calculated tuition total: €40,000 (Other fee category). Calculated from published annual tuition for per year (academic year not stated on page) x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.

    Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.

    Scholarships and funding

    Funding is shown with its basis and who it is for. Competitive funding is not a guarantee.

    • Aalto tuition fee waiver scholarships Tuition remission

      Competitive · A small number of scholarships in the form of tuition fee waivers

      Eligibility: Fee-paying students; awarded to the highest-achieving applicants based on the programme's evaluation criteria

      Source

    Sources and verification

    Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, accreditation or validation record.

    Sources and how this was checked

    Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.

    Suggest a correction