Master’s degree · MA
Documentary Film, Master of Arts (Art and Design)
Aalto University - School of Arts, Design and Architecture · School of Arts, Design and Architecture · Espoo, Finland
- Official award
- Master of Arts (Art and Design)
- Subject
- Film and Video Production
- Format
- On campus2 years, full-time
- Tuition
- €20,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page)
About this program
Two-year English-taught master's in documentary film at Aalto University.
- Department
- School of Arts, Design and Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Master of Arts (Art and Design)
- Award family
- MAA Master of Arts. It is not relabelled as an MFA.
- Academic level
- Master’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Film and Video Production | Dedicated degreeThe official program title is in this subject. |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 2 years, full-time
- Credits
- 120 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Aalto University, OtaniemiOtaniementie 14
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Portfolio details
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- 7 Dec 2026 – 5 Jan 2027
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee (master's studies)Tuition · mandatory | €20,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page) | Non-EU/EEA citizens as described on the page | 23 October 2026Source |
Calculated tuition total: €40,000 (Other fee category). Calculated from published annual tuition for per year (academic year not stated on page) x 2 years. It assumes no fee changes and excludes studio, materials, printing, software and other charges.
Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)