Bachelor’s degree · BA / BA (Hons)
Design and Media, Bachelor of Arts and Master of Arts (Art and Design)
Aalto University - School of Arts, Design and Architecture · School of Arts, Design and Architecture · Espoo, Finland
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts (Art and Design) + Master of Arts (Art and Design)
- Subject
- Visual Communication Design (concentration)New Media Arts (concentration)Industrial Design (concentration)
- Format
- On campus3+2 years, full-time
- Tuition
- €15,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page)
About this program
Combined 3+2 year English-taught bachelor's and master's route in design and media at Aalto University; the page lists seven master's options.
- Department
- School of Arts, Design and Architecture
- Awarding body
- Not stated on the pages we checked
Award and subject
The award is shown exactly as the institution titles it. A program belongs to a subject only through the link below: a dedicated degree, a named major, a formal concentration or a documented pathway.
- Official award
- Bachelor of Arts (Art and Design) + Master of Arts (Art and Design)
- Award family
- BA / BA (Hons)A Bachelor of Arts (including BA (Hons)). It is not relabelled as a BFA.
- Academic level
- Bachelor’s degree
- Previous degree required
- Not published
| Subject | Relationship | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Visual Communication Design | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Master's Programme in Art and Media, Visual Communication DesignHow students choose it is not published“Master's Programme in Art and Media, Visual Communication Design”Source |
| New Media Arts | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Master's Programme in Art and Media, New MediaHow students choose it is not published“Master's Programme in Art and Media, New Media”Source |
| Industrial Design | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Master's Programme in Design, Collaborative and Industrial DesignHow students choose it is not published“Master's Programme in Design, Collaborative and Industrial Design”Source |
| Fashion Design | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Master's Programme in Design, Fashion and Textile DesignHow students choose it is not published“Master's Programme in Design, Fashion and Textile Design”Source |
| Textile Design | Documented pathwayAn interdisciplinary program whose official page documents a pathway in this subject. | Master's Programme in Design, Fashion and Textile DesignHow students choose it is not published“Master's Programme in Design, Fashion and Textile Design”Source |
Accreditation, validation and recognition
Recorded for this program and campus, with the authority’s role. Institutional accreditation, degree-awarding authority, program accreditation, professional validation and national qualification registers are different things.
No program-level accreditation or validation record has been verified yet. That does not mean none exists; check the national authority and the institution.
Study structure
- Delivery
- On campusTaught at the listed campus.
- Study mode
- Full-time
- Duration
- 3+2 years, full-time
- Credits
- 180 ECTSCredit systems differ between countries and institutions.
- Intakes
- Not published
- Campus
- Aalto University, OtaniemiOtaniementie 14
Teaching language
- Taught in
- English
- English
- Taught in EnglishAn English-language website does not mean a program is taught in English.
Admissions
- Portfolio
- Portfolio requirement not published
- Portfolio details
- Interview
- Not published
- Deadlines
- 7 Jan 2027 – 22 Jan 2027
Fees and costs
Original currency is authoritative. Each price keeps its basis (per year, per credit, whole program), academic year and student category, and is never converted. Annual tuition and whole-program tuition are different figures.
| Item | Amount | Applies to | Dated |
|---|---|---|---|
| Tuition fee (bachelor's studies)Tuition · mandatory | €15,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page) | Non-EU/EEA citizens as described on the page | 23 October 2026Source |
| Tuition fee (master's studies)Tuition · mandatory | €20,000per year, per year (academic year not stated on page) | Non-EU/EEA citizens as described on the page | 23 October 2026Source |
No total is shown: the sources do not state a whole-program figure and the published duration and fee basis do not support a calculation.
Studio fees, materials, fabrication, printing, software, equipment, compulsory travel, residencies and exhibition charges are not listed by the institution on the pages we checked; art students often meet such costs.
Sources and verification
Not published on the program’s source pages: intakes, portfolio requirement, whether a previous degree is required, accreditation or validation record.
Sources and how this was checked
Last checked 23 October 2026. Each fact carries a verbatim quote that is re-checked against the live page. Research methodology.
Sources (checked 23 October 2026)